D.I.C.E. Awards


D.I.C.E. Special Awards

The Hall of Fame award is reserved for individuals who have been instrumental in the development of highly influential games. These individuals are usually associated with having moved a particular genre forward. Candidates are typically designers or creative directors, but can also be technologists, producers or production executives. These individuals demonstrate the highest level of creativity and innovation which results in significant product influence on a scale that expands the scope of the industry. The candidates and inductee are chosen by the Academy Board and announced at the D.I.C.E. Awards.

2020 Connie Booth, Vice President of Product Development at Sony Interactive Entertainment (SIE)
2019 Bonnie Ross, Corporate Vice President at Microsoft and Head of 343 Industries
2017 Todd Howard, Game Director, Bethesda Game Studios
2016 Hideo Kojima, Game Designer, Kojima Productions
2014 Leslie Benzies, President, Rockstar North
2014 Dan Houser, Co-founder and Vice President of Creative, Rockstar Games
2014 Sam Houser, Co-founder and President, Rockstar Games
2013 Gabe Newell, President and Co-Founder, Valve Corporation
2012 Tim Sweeney, CEO and Technical Director, Epic Games, Inc.
2011 Dr. Greg Zeschuk, Co-Founder, Bioware
2011 Dr. Ray Muzyka, Co-Founder, Bioware
2010 Mark Cerny, President, Cerny Games
2009 Bruce Shelley, Game Designer, Ensemble Studios
2008 Michael Morhaime, President & Co-Founder, Blizzard Entertainment
2007 Dani Bunten, Game Designer and Programmer
2006 Richard Garriott, NCsoft North America
2005 Trip Hawkins, Electronic Arts
2004 Peter Molyneux, Lionhead Studios
2003 Yu Suzuki, SEGA Coporation
2002 Will Wright, Maxis
2001 John Carmack, id Software
2000 Hironobu Sakaguchi, Square USA, Inc.
1999 Sid Meier, Firaxis Games
1998 Shigeru Miyamoto, Nintendo Co., Ltd. - Kyoto, Japan

The Lifetime Achievement Award is reserved for individuals whose accomplishments span a broad range of disciplines over a lengthy career in the industry. Recipients are typically individuals distinguished for their business leadership and are not necessarily involved in development or the creative process. Through their leadership and ideology, these individuals have driven significant and positive change across the industry. The candidates and inductee are chosen by the Academy Board and announced at the D.I.C.E. Awards.

2018 Genyo Takeda, Special Corporate Advisor, Nintendo
2016 Satoru Iwata, President, Nintendo Co., Ltd.
2011 Bing Gordon, Partner, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers
2010 Doug Lowenstein, President & CEO, Private Equity Council
2008 Ken Kutaragi, CEO, Cellius
2007 Minoru Arakawa and Howard Lincoln

The Pioneer Award is reserved for individuals whose career spanning work has helped shape and define the interactive entertainment industry. These individuals are often associated with the creation of a technological approach or the birth of a new genre. The accomplishments of the Pioneer Award recipient are generally focused in a particular discipline or a few particular areas directly related to development of games.  The candidates and inductee are chosen by the Academy Board and announced at the D.I.C.E. Awards.

2015 Ralph H. Baer, Creator, Magnavox Odyssey
2015 Allan Alcorn, Designer, Pong
2014 Eugene Jarvis, Co-founder and President, Raw Thrills, Inc.
2013 Dave Lebling, Co-Founder, Infocom
2013 Marc Blank, Co-Founder, Infocom
2012 Ed Logg
2011 Bill Budge, Staff Engineer, Google
2010 David Crane

The Technical Impact Award celebrates unique innovations that contribute to the ongoing progress of interactive media. Honorees may come from various facets of the industry, which include but are not limited to software, hardware, and community.

2016 Visual Basic
2015 Apple App Store