Famed Nintendo 64, Nintendo GameCube and Wii Hardware Designer To Be Inducted at the 21st D.I.C.E. Awards 

Register for the 2018 D.I.C.E. Summit and 21st D.I.C.E. Awards.

The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS) is pleased to announce that Genyo Takeda, Special Corporate Advisor at Nintendo, will be the seventh Lifetime Achievement Award recipient. Takeda has been at the forefront in shaping the video games hardware industry in his career-long tenure at Nintendo with the development of the Nintendo 64, Nintendo GameCube and the Wii system.  

Takeda was born in Osaka, Japan and graduated from the Faculty of Engineering at Shizuoka University in March 1971. Shortly afterwards in July 1972 he began his life-long career at Nintendo. 

Takeda’s lasting influence is attributed to the development of some of the most well-loved Nintendo hardware systems in the past two decades.  In December 1980 Takeda was announced as General Manager, Research & Development Department No. 3 in the Nintendo Manufacturing Division where he helped create the arcade and NES versions of Punch-Out!! and led the development of the Nintendo 64 system. As Director and General Manager of the Integrated Research & Development Division and Representative Director and Senior Managing Director, Takeda was responsible for creating the Wii system.  

Takeda next served as the Representative Director and Technology Fellow, and most recently served as Special Corporate Adviser after his announced retirement from Nintendo in 2017. 

The Lifetime Achievement Award is reserved for individuals whose accomplishments span a broad range of disciplines over a lengthy career in the industry. Recipients are typically individuals distinguished for their business leadership and are not necessarily involved in development or the creative process. Through their leadership and ideology, these individuals have driven significant and positive change across the industry. 

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented by Don James, AIAS Board Member and Executive Vice President of Operations at Nintendo of America at the 21st D.I.C.E. Awards on Thursday, Feb. 22nd, 2018 in Las Vegas.  Previous AIAS Lifetime Achievement Award inductees include Doug Lowenstein, Howard Lincoln, Minoru Arakawa, Ken Kutaragi, Bing Gordon and Satoru Iwata. 

Click here for the full press release.

Register for the 2018 D.I.C.E. Summit and 21st D.I.C.E. Awards.